Grain Free Banana Chocolate Protein Muffins and a workout

Today I woke up early to sneak in a workout before everyone else was out of bed. I always feel so good to get sweaty first thing. My workout consisted of 30 minutes on the elliptical (with a magazine) and 15 minutes of weights. My weights today were lunges, squats, chest press, tricep press, pull-ups (assisted), dips (assisted), bicep curls, push-ups and lat-pull downs. I did 10-20 reps of each exercise and moved quickly from one to the next. It was a great workout, I felt good and sweaty but not too much. I am trying to keep my intensity down a bit for reasons that I will explain later. I took a quick shower and was ready to snuggle with little Z when she woke up.

After our morning snuggles, little Z and I decided to make some muffins. Sometimes we like to call them ‘cupcakes’ because then we can add frosting, sprinkles and a candle and pretend to have a party! These muffins are super moist and delicious with a hint of texture from the coconut shreds. They turn out very light and are easy to gobble up! It makes my heart sing as a mom when my little one eats one and asks for more. Full of protein and wholesome ingredients so eating two is no problem!

banana chocolate muffins

Grain Free Banana Chocolate Protein Muffins

2 ripe bananas (the riper the better)

1/4 cup honey (more or less to your liking)

1/2 cup natural almond butter (any nut butter would work)

1 tbsp. vanilla

2 farm fresh eggs

1 scoop chocolate protein powder

1 tbsp. cocoa powder

1 tbsp. chai seeds

1/2 tbsp. ground flaxseed

1 tbsp. shredded coconut

1 tsp baking soda

Mix bananas, honey, eggs, almond butter and vanilla. Add the remaining ingredients and mix well. Batter should be slightly runny. Pour into lined or greased muffin pan. Bake at 350 for 18-20 minutes. Remove and let cool on a rack.

Tastes really yummy with almond or coconut butter. Great breakfast or snack to take with you on the run. Enjoy!

If you like this one then stay tuned… I hove lots of other muffin variations that I would love to share with you in future posts…

P1030832

P1030845 Yum yum!

Leave a Reply

