Lemon Berry Bread + Barre Workout

 

WORKOUT

Today I was feeling a bit tired and decided to stick with a low impact workout. I choose “Physique 57 Total Body Workout“. It is a great at home workout and leaves you feeling sore all over by working with light or no resistance to overload your muscles to the point of fatigue. I love Barre workouts and try to incorporate them into my schedule once a week. (when I am lucky)

Physique 57

After my workout, I needed to refuel with something delicious and nutritious like “lemon berry bread”. I made it this weekend so it is easy to slice and eat with your coffee/tea or wrap it up to eat on the run during the week.

LEMMON BERRY BREAD

P1040003

IDGREDIENTS

4 farm fresh eggs

2 tbsp. honey (or sweetener of choice and you can add more if you like it sweeter)

1 very ripe banana

1 tbsp. coconut butter

1 tbsp. vanilla

1 tsp almond extract

1/4 cup nut butters (I used almond butter)

zest and juice from one small lemon (use a large lemon if you like extra lemon flavor)

1/2 cup plain yogurt or sour cream (I used sour cream because I was out of yogurt but both work well)

1/4 cup coconut milk

1/2 cup coconut flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tbsp. ground flaxseed

1 scoop protein powder (unflavored or vanilla)

1 cup berries (I used blueberries, raspberries and huckleberries)

DIRECTIONS

Mix eggs, honey, banana, extracts, nut butters, lemon, yogurt/sour cream and coconut milk in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, mix flour, baking powder, flaxseed and protein powder. Slowely mix dry ingredients into wet ingredients. Move slowly so the batter does not get too thick. You can add a splash more coconut milk if needed. Pour into greased loaf pan.
Bake at 350 for 45-50 minutes. Let it cool in the pan for 15 minutes and then move to a wire cooling rack.

It tastes great on its own or slather with melt, coconut butter or nut butter. Enjoy!

lemon berry bread P1040001

meltyum!

Leave a Reply

